by Rocket de Laval
23 February 2019

LAVAL (February 22, 2019) – In their first home game since February 8, the Laval Rocket took on
the Manitoba Moose at Place Bell on Friday night and handed them a 3-0 shutout loss in front of
a crowd of 7,091. Goals from the both the powerplay and from the penalty kill helped fuel the
Rocket’s victory, as did Michael McNiven’s 24 saves and the points picked up from eight different
Laval players.

The Rocket’s special teams gave them a 2-0 lead over the Moose in the first period as both the
powerplay and the penalty kill got on the board. Cale Fleury slapped his fifth of the season behind
Manitoba’s Eric Comrie a little less than five minutes into the period and exactly two minutes
later, Lukas Vejdemo netted his eighth of the season on a shorthanded two-on-one with Nikita
Jevpalovs. Not only did the penalty kill give the Rocket a goal in the period, but they also
prevented the Moose from getting on the board themselves on three separate powerplay

Maxim Lamarche’s third of the season came less than three minutes into the second period,
giving Joël Bouchard’s troops a 3-0 lead over the Moose less than halfway through the game. The
Rocket continued to dominate all aspects of play in the second period and by the end of the 20
minutes, they were outshooting their opponents 21-13 while maintaining their 3-0 lead.
Though the Moose sent 11 shots on McNiven in the final frame, the score remained unchanged
at 3-0 allowing the Rocket to pick up the win in the first of their back-to-back games against the
Moose this weekend.

“It was a full team effort,” emphasized McNiven after the game. “With the shots they block and
the pucks they get out on the penalty kill—the penalty kill was really good today — we were just
hungry for the puck and I feel like today we wanted it a lot.”

LAV: Fleury (Chaput, Grenier) | Vejdemo (Jevpalovs, Alzner) | Lamarche (Sklenicka, Grenier)
MB: None
Goaltenders: LAV: McNiven (24/24) | MB: Comrie (20/23)
Rocket Powerplay: 1/5 | Rocket Penalty Kill: 6/6
Three Stars: 1. Lukas Vejdemo – LAV | 2. Michael McNiven – LAV | 3. Cale Fleury – LAV