by Rocket de Laval
2 February 2019

TORONTO (February 1, 2019) It took 62 minutes and nine seconds to determine a winner between the Laval Rocket and the Toronto Marlies at the Coca-Cola Coliseum on Friday night, as the two goaltenders battled for their shutouts in their teams’ first of two games against one another this weekend. The Marlies took the game 1-0 in overtime.


Charlie Lindgren took control of the first period and turned away all ten of Toronto’s shots on goal. Lindgren, who made 36 saves in the Rocket’s loss, robbed Dmytro Timashov of a goal with his glove midway through the period and with the help of Joël Bouchard’s penalty killers, kept the Marlies off the board during their sole first period powerplay to keep the game scoreless after one.


After killing off a penalty called against them at the end of the first period, the Rocket had two powerplays of their own in the second frame that were killed off by the Marlies. Michael Hutchinson turned away Laval’s seven shots in the period while Lindgren turned away Toronto’s 12, keeping the game tied at zero. Nikita Jevpalovs nearly had the game’s opening goal for Laval with three minutes remaining in the period however, but the puck he tapped toward the net while he was sprawled out on the ice hit the post.


The Rocket penalty kill was perfect for the third time in the third period, as were both goaltenders. The divisional rivals needed overtime to get the game’s first goal, where Chris Mueller scored for Marlies on the powerplay giving them the 1-0 victory over the Rocket.


“Charlie was very, very good tonight,” said Bouchard of his goaltender after the game. “It was probably his best game of the year. I’m very happy for him, he worked hard and it hasn’t been easy for him this season with his injuries, coming back, and then going back out. He was solid and it’ll do him some good.”




LAV: None


TOR: Mueller (Moore, Rosen)


Goaltenders: LAV: Lindgren (36/37) | TOR: Hutchinson (15/15)


Rocket Powerplay: 0/2| Rocket Penalty Kill: 3/4


Three Stars: 1. Charlie Lindgren – LAV | 2. Michael Hutchinson – TOR | 3. Chris Mueller – TOR